Restaurant, Reviews

[7/365] A Review: Ben’s

Right, so I was about to write a post on the Korean entertainment industry (and in the process get all salty about how my faves aren’t being treated right because I am the softest stan you’ll ever know) but I went out for lunch with my best friend earlier today and I wanted to talk about it! Danni and I go way back, we’ve been cursed together since high school and it’s been a long time since we met up, so today was a long time coming.

On a whim, we headed to KLCC and decided to try out this place called Ben’s – Danni’s been around it a lot and I’ve never been, so might as well! It’s got a nice vibe to it, almost like Plan b. over in Mid Valley (which is no surprise, since they’re from the same company. Plan b. is also quite a nice place, will do a throwback post on it some time soon!) – almost hipster-ish with its steel chairs and tiny tables and free lemon water.

The menu was nothing out of the ordinary – your normal selection of salads, sandwiches, pasta, burgers, Asian cuisine (laksa and pho were several that caught my eye) and standard Western fare (steak, beef stew, fish and chips, et cetera). Danni ordered a Hearty Wagyu Beef Steak with strawberry milkshake, while I got a Classic Carbonara Spaghetti with cafe latte.

IMG_20170107_130000_669.jpg
Contemplating life and beef stews

Apparently the stew, according to Danni, did not taste like stew. Tasted more like bolognese sauce, rather, but considering the menu did say Hearty Wagyu Beef Stew in tomato and beef jus (and given the fact that most beef stew recipes I’ve tried out do in fact use enough tomato paste and/or sauce to rival the most tomato-ey pasta sauce in existence), I’d say that’s not really surprising. The beef was tender as all hell though, I’ll give them that at least. The strawberries in the milkshake were sour, but at least there was an actual fruit in the milkshake, which is more than what I can say for some restaurants I’ve been to.

IMG_20170107_230748_640.jpg
Ignore my powerbank over yonder

My Classic Carbonara Spaghetti, on the other hand, was absolutely delectable: creamy and cheesy with beef slices and bits of turkey bacon. Needed a little pepper, although that might have just been my personal preference. The cafe latte too was pleasantly flavoured – I’m the kind of person who believes that a little sweetness is needed to bring out the very complex and subtly nuanced taste of coffee, so I added some sugar and it was just nice. Nothing too amazing, but pleasant all the same.

All in all, given the mixed reaction we both had over the course of the lunch, I’m of a fair mind to recommend Ben’s if you are: a) in possession of ample cash you will not regret spending (main courses range from RM30 to RM78, and the service charge makes it all worse); and b) of an adventurous nature. Seems it could be a hit and miss, depending on your order, and I certainly seemed to have the better luck today.

From my experience alone, 7.5/10 would recommend.

Ben’s, Lot 140, 1st Floor, Suria KLCC, Kuala Lumpur

Leave a Reply

