Thoughts

D-1

Without us realising it, 2016’s gone and passed us by, and now it’s the 31st of December. The new year’s only a day away (and along with it comes the rest of my finals, but we don’t talk about that). It feels surreal somehow, and there’s an underlying current of dread – relief that this awful year is nearly over, yes, but also dread at what is to come. If 2016 was a shit year, 2017 doesn’t seem likely to be better.

Even so, there’s a lot to be thankful for in 2016. I got accepted into university – and into a course that I don’t immediately hate, no less! huge blessings right there – and I made some great new friends. My family and loved ones are safe and well. There is a purpose to my days, and I’m thankful for that. Having said that, however, I realise there’s still a lot about myself that I need to fix.

The problem with being too independent is you tend to run your own interventions, which is what I’m doing with this blog.

That’s right, this blog was created solely to fix the problems I’ve identified within myself. Go big or go home, that’s what I say. Taking into account how it’s almost the new year and all that jazz, I’ve decided to make tackling my problems the entirety of my new year’s resolutions, namely:

  • eat healthily – you laugh, but I’m almost at the point where I’m undernourished and malnutritioned with this ridiculous all-protein-and-no-vitamins diet I’ve got going on. this has definitely got to stop.
  • exercise more – my doctor told me to quit theatre because my stamina is so low, I risk passing out more often than I’d be useful. time to build up that stamina reserve.
  • be more productive – I have so many things I want to do, but I never end up doing them. I’m putting an end to that this year, starting with scheduled updates to this blog and my (planned) weekly serial, Dungeon Crashers.
  • be more comfortable with putting myself out there – the camera’s not going to steal my soul, and it’s okay to want to show off whenever I buy something new. being an observer is all fine and well, but if I want to be more confident in myself I need to put myself out there.

So how am I going to do this? Easy. I’m going to force myself to keep tabs on what I’m eating and how much water I’m taking in by making daily posts on this blog – I’ll talk about whatever’s interesting or important to me for that day, and at the end I’ll tack on some notes on my diet. The aim is to slowly get myself used to a regular intake of fruits and vegetables instead of eating whatever the hell I get my hands on.

Of course, since this is a blog, I’ll also be writing about whatever that interests me. I’m trying to get myself back into the habit of reading, so monthly book reviews will be a thing. So are film and album reviews – there’re a lot of great artists and musicians out there, and I’ve always loved going to the cinema so I might as well. Occasionally restaurant and video game reviews will pop up, but I daresay I won’t have as much time to write about those.

I’m taking up jogging in the mornings again after leaving it for so long, as a means of building up my stamina. The last time I jogged was in Cambridge, and I must say I missed it (much like how I miss practically everything about Britain. wait, not the VAT. I certainly don’t miss that).

I’ve got a plan, goddammit, and I’m going to stick by it. Tomorrow will be the first day I’ll be putting all my plans into actual action. Kinda looking forward to it after planning things for so long. Fingers crossed I’ll make it through the year.

So that’s how I’m ushering in the new year. What about you? Any resolutions you plan on upholding in 2017? Let me know in the comments.

Til next time.

Leave a Reply

